A Shelter Full of Hope and Promise

Ruby – Adopted April 2023!



Breed: Shepherd Mix
Gender: Female
Age: Approx. 1 year old
Size: Medium


Energy Level: Medium, may increase as confidence gained in her new surroundings  
Training Goals:  Basic manners, settling in to a new home, learning to live in a more urban environment, walking on leash
House trained? Yes
Kids? Unknown. Potentially with proper socialisation, supervision and seperation
Cats? Unknown. Potentially with proper socialisation, supervision and seperation
Dogs? Unknown. Potentially with proper socialisation, supervision and seperation 
Medical Needs: Completing first round of core vaccines, recovery from recent spay, then yearly veterinary visits

About Me:

Hi I'm Ruby!

I am a new arrival at WAG, so everyone is still getting to know me and my likes and dislikes better. Not much is known about my life prior to coming here, but they do know for sure that I am a sweet young girl with a lot of love to give. I recently went to my first vet appointment, I did really well there and have just had my spay to make sure I won't be another young mom with an accidental litter. The vet thinks I'm around 1 year old, so I am just a baby who is a puppy myself, ready to learn all of the things I need to know for the future. I am lucky to be in a loving foster home whilst I recover from my upcoming spay and wait for my forever people to find me.

I love toys, treats and belly rubs, I am working on my mouthyness as I like to explore with my teefs like many young doggos who need plenty of love and entertainment each day. I am learning to chew toys instead and have been enjoying lots of food puzzles and other enrichment. Coming to WAG was a big transition for me, but I am now in a loving foster home who have sent through the following notes. I have had my first bath, and started to settle in, but have not been left alone much yet as I am not feeling 100%:

Ruby has been settling very well, we had a great weekend together! She's smart and goofy, definitely building some confidence in busier areas of town, but crushing it on trails. She's opening up, showing her personality, and getting to know us. We even had some zoomies for the first time and a nap all together on the couch yesterday!

- Rope toys and crinkly things to chew
- Belly rubs
- Snuggling on the sofa next to her people, especially if there is a duvet to lay on too
- Enrichment toys, has been really good at figuring out the snuffle mat, kong, feeding puzzle and kibble rolled in a towel and will patiently wait for you to set it up for her to work on
- Nibbling on people's sleeves
- Would love to be allowed to sleep on the humans bed at night

Dislikes so far:
- Bathtime, this is a hard pass for her! Trying to rinse shampoo off with the shower had her yelping like I was trying to kill her. If she's with us long enough to need another wash, I would try using a cup of water instead of a showerhead to see if it is less awful for her
- Having anything put on her head, towel draped over her body is fine, but hated it draped on her head
- Wearing the cone, but she has gotten better with it
- Being left alone at home, but we have been working on interval breaks of 15 seconds, 30 seconds, 1 minute etc to get her used to being alone

I'm so grateful to my current carers, but what I REALLY need is a  a home committed to me and ready to give me a life with love and adventure for the rest of my years. Some family training with a WAG approved positive reinforcement trainer would also be beneficial to all of us. A tracker might also be a good idea as I may be a flight risk as I transition into my next adventure. I can't wait to find my forever home! Are you my perfect match?

My Perfect Match:

- A family with patience and a lot of love to give

- Understanding that a lot of things are new to me, I may need time to adjust to my new surroundings, and work on being alone inside

- Understanding that if I am expected to live with resident animals or children, that introductions must be taken slowly to make sure I am comfortable and kept safe

- Be proactive with my training, using a WAG approved trainer that will help me continue to gain confidence and give my family the tools they will need

-Having a safe & secured yard would be a bonus for morning zoomies! If not, being okay with using a long line to allow freedom but keep me safe

-Will love me forever no matter what, quirks and all! Remember I am still young and learning

-Will keep my health in mind and take me for yearly vet visits


My Story:

Not much is known about my life prior to coming to the shelter. A good samaritan kept me warm and fed whilst searching for my owners. They then decided to bring me to WAG to keep me safe, give access to vet care including vaccines and spay surgery.

If you are not in a position to adopt but would like to support WAG, please consider setting up a small monthly donation to make sure we can always say yes to other dogs like Ruby and give them a second chance at health and happiness.