A Shelter Full of Hope and Promise




Breed: Shepherd Hound? Cross
Gender: Male
Age: 1.5 years old
Size: Large/ XL



Energy Level: Medium, I seem to take things at a slow pace on walks but love to run and play in the WAG yard with a lot more gusto!
Training Goals: Basic Manners + Learning to live in a more urban environment
House trained? Yes
Kids? I have lived with kids before 
Cats? Nope! I might like to chase them and other small animals
Dogs? I have lived with other dogs my size before. No small dogs please.  
Medical Needs: Recovery from my upcoming neuter surgery, then yearly veterinary visits

About Me:

Hi I'm Togo!

I came from a loving home, but due to a very sad situation I had to be surrendered to WAG.  I am feeling blue as I am away from my family but am starting to settle in to my new routine at WAG and am enjoying making lots of new friends. I can be a little nervous at first, I have had some big changes in my life lately so please go slow with me and be sure to give me lots of treats. Hot dogs are my favourite! When I realise you are safe, I'll show you my playful side and ask for cuddles and pets. I love playing with the soccer balls in the yard and sprinting around. After which I'm content to relax and settle in my kennel but even happier to be near the staff - whether thats helping out in reception or going for adventures in the area.

So far I've been pretty chilled out when I've been taken out on walks. I'm keen to amble alongside the staff and just take it all in. It's always a sniff-ari walk when you're on a walk with me, so feel free to throw some more of those yummy hot dogs in the grass for me to find. I've been doing well in the car too, I'll hop in and out and spread myself out on the backseat for a well deserved nap.

I'm affectionate and sweet, but have a fun playful side too. In my past home I lived with other large dogs and young children, but I'm not suited to living with small dogs, cats or any other little critters. I can forget my size sometimes, but am working on calm greetings and not jumping up when I'm really excited.

I'll need a home that is committed to me and ready to give me a life with love and adventure for the rest of my years. A little bit of training with my new family would also be beneficial to all of us.

I can't wait to find my forever home! Please keep an eye on my profile which will be updated as the staff get to know me better.....

My Perfect Match:

-Is willing to take a couple of trips to WAG to get to know me before taking me home. I can be unsure of new people when I first meet them

- A family with patience who love big, goofy, silly young dogs!

- Understanding that I have had some big changes recently and to give me the time I need to settle in and relax. Especially if I am to live with other big dogs or little humans.

- Be proactive with my training, using a WAG approved trainer that will help me learn new skills and give me the best set up for sucess.

- Be pro muzzle and keen to continue my muzzle training plan

-Having a safe & secured yard would be a bonus for morning zoomies and soccer sessions! If not, being okay with using a long line to allow freedom but keep me safe

- Will take me for annual vet checkups and be proactive with my health

My Story:

I came from a loving home, where a very unfortunate situation forced me to be surrendered to WAG. Although I am sad to find myself at WAG, and can't wait for my forever family to find me!

If you are not currently in a position to adopt, please consider making a donation to WAG so that other dogs like me can be given a second chance when they have nowhere else to turn.