A Shelter Full of Hope and Promise



Stevie (previously known as Pepper)

Breed: Collie/Shepherd Cross
Gender: Female
Age: Approx. 1.5 years old
Size: Medium/Large

Energy Level: Medium/ High
Training Goals: settling into a new home and environment, continuing my positive reinforcement training to help me feel more comfortable around my triggers, muzzle training, 
House trained? Yes!
Kids? No thanks. 
Cats? Nope! I'm a little too keen on them.
Dogs? I will need to be the only dog in the home. 
Medical Needs: Yearly vet visits. 

About Me:

Hi! I'm Stevie, or you might remember my previous name 'Pepper' from when I arrived at WAG at the end of 2022 with my sister 'Piper'. I was adopted by a loving family but sadly it didn't work out as planned so I am back with my friends at WAG looking for a home. I am over 1 year old now, but since I was a stray this is just a guess. I am a sweet floofy girl, who can be shy and nervous when first meeting new people, but once we are pals I love cuddles on the couch and seek out affection.

I love all sorts of treats, I'll never turn my nose up at whats offered and am food motivated so enjoy learning new skills and working on current ones via positive reinforcement training. I am a really smart girl who looks forward to enrichment activities such as food puzzles, kongs, snufflemats and more. I have been working on basic manners with verbal cues and hand signals such as: sit, down, stay, leave it, wait, in your place and more! Some things I am more confident with than others but I am keen to learn and work on all kinds of things.  As you can see, I'm a fluffy puppa so do tend to need brushing fairly regularly which I don't mind in short bursts. I love spending time in my crate or in my bunkbed at WAG, its one of my fave places to chill and would love to have a safe quiet space of my own in my next home too.

I'm a natural born athlete who loves to run and play, jump high and have even tried agility class which was good fun! 'Tug' is another favourite, so much so that playing tug after short training sessions works as a high value reward for me. I have made lots of dog friends locally and have been introduced to a couple of the current canine residents at WAG, but Togo is my favourite and we spend our days together at the shelter whilst we wait for homes of our own. I can be wary of some dogs so proper introductions are best! I love to chase and be chased by other dogs that I know, just watch how fast I can go. HOWEVER I would rather just cuddle with my human(s) on the couch and not have to share any of their cuddles with another dog in the home. Or kids for that matter. I like all the attention and love to be ON ME! I think my transition into my new home will be less complicated if I am the only doggo, but I'd love to have friends to meet up with for playtime.

I love going on adventures and walk very well on a leash. I have been to doggy day care and have done well with the other dogs in the past. I am ok in the car but can get a little motion sick on longer journeys. I am still a young pup with lots to learn about the world around me and have been nervous around small children and some men including seniors. I would love to have a calm, kind and patient guardian to look after me and continue working on my associations to my triggers at my own pace. Since arriving back at WAG I have started on muzzle training to help make sure I am safe, especially as coming back to the shelter can be rather stressful for doggos. I was hoping not to be here for long, but it has already been over 6 weeks and I am doing really well considering but it is not easy waiting at the shelter for my loving people to come and find me!


My ideal match would be:
- Adults who understand that I may need a few meetings prior to adoption to get to know you and learn that we are friends. As well as patience whilst I adjust to my new surroundings and life

- Loves dogs who enjoy cuddles and adventures but will work at my own pace and not overwhelm me
- Will keep me safe and love me always, no matter what!
- Eager to learn more about dog body language so you can understand what I'm communicating to you
- Be proactive with my training, using a WAG approved trainer that will help me gain confidence and give my humans the tools they will need including being Pro-Muzzle if needed
- Will keep me healthy and happy with proper exercise and yearly vet visits and anything else I might need!

My Story:

I came to WAG last year as a stray alongside my sister Piper and we were both adopted into wonderful loving homes locally. However, sadly my family made the very difficult decision that although they loved me very much, it would be best for me to come back into WAG's care so that they could find me a new enviroment where I can really thrive.