A Shelter Full of Hope and Promise

Pepper – Adopted January 2023!



Breed: Collie/Shepherd Cross
Gender: Female
Age: Approx. 7 months
Size: Medium/Large

Energy Level: Medium
Training Goals: Basic Manners
House trained? Yes
Kids? Unknown, may need help adjusting to living with small children
Cats? Unknown
Dogs? Yes, with proper introduction
Medical Needs: None, finishing round of vaccination and yearly checkups

About Me:

Hi! I'm Pepper!

I was found free roaming in Hancville with my sister, and thankfully some caring community members brought us to WAG. I have never had a home, and considering that I am a well adjusted pup to daily life. I am about 7 months, but since I was a stray this is just a guess. I can be a little shy at first, but warm up quickly once I know you are a safe person. I am good at going outside to use the bathroom, but sometimes it can take me a while to find a spot I liken when I am on leash.

I seem to like other dogs with proper introductions, but I'm not huge into playing. I would rather just cuddle with a human on the couch, and not have to share any of their cuddles with another dog. I like all the attention and love on me. Although now I've settled into a foster home my puppy side and playfulness does come out more!

I love going on adventures and walk very well on a leash. I ok in the car but can get a little motion sick on longer journeys. I am very polite, and easygoing to be around. I am still coming out of my shell, and considering the situation I came from, I may have some quirks arise in the future. I'm still just a puppy after all!


FOSTER UPDATE December 30th 2022:

"As you know, she is a super sweet, gentle, quiet, loving, trusting dog that loves to be close by and will follow you around the house, lay on the bathroom mat while you're in the shower and cuddle up close in bed. 

Other than the first night, her appetite has been solid. She has done OK with loud noises like snow clearers etc and will stop still to watch and is alert but not try to flee the scene. The only loud noise she really reacted to was sirens when we were out on a walk and she wanted to book it back down the trail. She has been keen to approach dogs that she has seen from a distance and does better with humans for sure that get down to her level than if they just stand up straight and are strangers, she wasn't a fan of that. 

We have had usually a 30-35 min early morning walk before breakfast then a 45-60 min walk in the late afternoon but it's varied. The afternoon walk is usually including the long line so she can run and play more. Always some indoor play time and some short walks for pee breaks during the day too. She has been better and better and pooping and peeing while on (short) leashes but needs time and patience to find her right spot. 

I have used a zoom groom on her for a gentle massage and to get rid of some hair 3 times over the week. Gently and slowly, giving her space to move away if she doesn't want any more, lots of treats and positive reinforcement to let me brush her. Today we graduated to the furminator comb that I used after some zoom groom and then finished with zoom groom (as it feels nicer). She has a lot of coat and it is better for her to have brushes and get rid of the excess hair. She was very good about. the whole thing. 

Pepper is a very quiet dog, only vocalizing if she needs to go out or if she is hungry in my experience. Plus yesterday she was especially outgoing and the puppy really came out of her with some zoomies on the long line and fresh snow. She was more vocal then and it was very cute. Settled right down at home though. 

She really is the sweetest dog and such a good girl. Anyone will be very lucky to welcome her into their home and heart."


My perfect match would be:
- A family with patience and understanding that I may need time to adjust to my new surroundings and life
- Loves dogs who enjoy cuddles and adventures
- Will keep me safe and love me forever, no matter what!
- Eager to learn more about dog body language so you can understand what I'm communicating to you
- Be proactive with my training, using a WAG approved trainer that will help me gain confidence and give my family the tools they will need
- Will keep me healthy and happy with proper exercise and yearly vet visits and anything else I might need!

My Story:

I was found as a stray wandering with my sister up by Williams Lake . Some caring citizens took me in and drove my sister and I all the wag to WAG, Unfortunately not alot is know about my history due to me being homeless before I was taken in.