A Shelter Full of Hope and Promise

Oliver – Adopted January 2023!



Breed: Catahoula Mix
Gender: Male
Age: 5 years old
Size: Large



Energy Level: Medium
Training Goals:  Settling in to a new home, learning to live in a more urban environment,
House trained? Yes
Kids? Yes, I've lived in a family home before
Cats? Yes, I've lived with a cat before
Dogs? Yes, I get along with other dogs, but may need some adjusting to living with one
Medical Needs: Yearly veterinary visits

About Me:

Hi I'm Oliver!

I came from a very loving home, where a housing situation forced me to be surrendered to WAG. I have been awaiting adoption for a month now; staff and volunteers can't believe I'm still here!

I was very sad to leave my family but have settled well into a new routine in a cpuple of wonderful foster homes whilst I wait. I still don't like spending time at the shelter (I bark alot when I'm left in my kennel), but I have made plenty of human, doggo and kitty friends there. I am a lovebug who wants to always be close by and is happy to keep you company. When I hang out in the yard, I sometimes get the zoomies and run so fast but I will come and check in with the humans and ask for plenty of affection. Toys are cool and all but I'm more of a cuddle monster and a treat collector myself. I don't like to be on my own too much, as I've had a lot of adjustments in the last month but the team feel that once I'm in my new home and feel comfortable I will be feeling better about being left.

Although I can be a little shy at first, I tend to warm up to new people quickly and will come right up to you with a waggy tail to ask for a treat and a pat! I love walks, riding in the car, and enjoy meeting other dogs too. I have been around children in the past and have been great, as well as living with cats previously who I am very respectful around.

When I first arrived in my foster home, I was a little cautious and concerned by the new noises going on around me which I voiced my opinion at. But a day later I was settled in and made myself right at home. Some anxiety was to be expected as I have had a lot of changes in my life recently but I really am a great sport! My foster mom is able to leave me for short periods and will gradually extend these absenses at my pace.

I need a home that is committed to me and ready to give me a life with love and adventure for the rest of my years. A little bit of training with my new family would also be beneficial to all of us. I can't wait to find my forever home!

Some words from his foster mom: 

"Oliver is a gentle giant, easy to walk, happy to play and chill/nap, enjoys a good body rub, sleeps well and isn't needy but does look for some reassurance from you. He is such a sweet guy and a funny goofball when doing zoomies! He has been great with other dogs we've met on our daily walks and adventures too! Oliver enjoys sleeping at the end of the bed, coming for his goodnight and good morning cuddle alongside requesting a full body massage. Oliver is an amazing dog and his adoptors will be luck to have him!"

My Perfect Match:

-Is willing to take a few trips to WAG to get to know me before taking me home. I am fearful of strangers when I first meet them.
- A family with patience
- Understanding that a lot of things are new to me, I may need time to adjust to my new surroundings
- Be proactive with my training, using a WAG approved trainer that will help me contiinue to gain confidence and give my family the tools they will need
-Having a safe & secured yard would be a bonus for morning zoomies! If not, being okay with using a long line to allow freedom but keep me safe.
-Will love me forever no matter what, quirks and all!

My Story:

I came from a very loving home, but I was unable to stay there due to them no longer having pet friendly housing. I hope I won't be at the shelter for too much longer, it's been a hard transtion and I am very much ready to be adopted!