A Shelter Full of Hope and Promise

Murphy – Adopted April 2022!


In WAG's care since February 2022

Breed: Husky/Lab/Collie mix
Gender: Male
Age: 1 years old
Size: Medium/Large



Energy Level: High
Training Goals: Mandatory training post adoption with a WAG approved trainer
House trained? Yes
Kids? Older calm kids 
Cats? Yes, with proper supervision and separation
Dogs? No thanks
Medical Needs: Yearly check ups with the vet 

About Me:

Hi! I’m Murphy!

I am a young pup who still has LOTS to learn! I have been loving being at WAG, so far I have been happy to meet all the new humans, staff & volunteers. I am learning how to walk with a harness and a leash, and confidently, sometimes loud cars can scare me. I'm excited to go out for awesome adventures, I get to go to the river, smell lots and see new things.

When I get playful I can be very BOUNCY and not know my own body size. I love to cuddle and sit in your lap.

I am hoping that my forever family will be awesome humans, lots of play, adventures, cuddles, but most importantly I need them to be patient.

Some new things can make me a bit unsure and I need my family to be understanding that they'll need to work with me during this big life change, hire a trainer and give me time to adjust.

I’ve recently moved into a foster home, so here's an update!

  • Murphy (Murphdawg)
    A little bit about me.
    I love kisses and cuddles, getting my hair brushed, going for car rides, long walks and being outside.
    I have the biggest heart and have loved every human both boys and girls that I have met. I have also gotten along with every doggo that I have met so far, this has only been on leash and quick hello's but I'm sure with the proper introductions I could get along with most doggos.
    I would rather not be inside all day as I like to adventure and sniff everything! My foster family is helping me learn that chilling out indoors is ok, I still get a little bit restless when inside but have been known to nap after a walk while my foster family works from home. My ideal family will love to be outdoors and active a lot of the time or have a yard with a tall fence as I can jump quite high.
    I am a big puppy at heart, which means I am still working on some of the basics. Without distractions I have learnt my name, sit, down and roll with my foster fam, I am still working on my recall when out for walks especially when I get distracted by squirrels or birds. I am actually really good on a leash and don't pull people over, I just haven't figured out which side I'm supposed to be on yet.
    If you love to throw balls, give belly rubs and explore the outdoors, I am sure we will be best friends. I am looking forward to meeting my furever home, going on adventures and getting all of the pats 🙂

My perfect match

  • Be able to commit to coming to visit me a few times at the shelter before going into my forever home
  • A family with patience
  • Understanding that a lot of things are new to me, I may need time to adjust to my new surrounding
  • Be proactive with my training, using a WAG approved trainer that will help me gain confidence and give my family the
    tools they will need when I come across something that is scary to me
  • Be ready for the 10+ year commitment
  • Keep me healthy and happy with proper exercise and yearly vet visits.

If you're dedicated to providing a safe home using only fear-free, positive reinforcement training methods, please fill out an application below,

My Story:

My first family loved me, they took great care of me, but they were unable to provide the best home possible. They knew WAG would help find me a new home. I've mostly lived outdoors, so adjusting to indoors may take me a little while.

I hope it's not long before my forever family comes around.


If you can't adopt me, please consider donating to WAG so they can always take in pups and cats in need!