A Shelter Full of Hope and Promise

Macadamia

Maca outside

Macadamia

Breed: Shepherd/Collie Cross
Gender: Female
Age: 1 Year approx.
Size: Medium

 

 

Energy Level: Medium, more energy as she gets more confident!
Training Goals: Basic Manners
House trained? Yes
Kids? Unknown
Cats? Unknown
Dogs? Unknown
Medical Needs: Finishing my first round of vaccines, spay surgery, yearly vet checkups

About Me:

Hi! I'm Macadamia!

I came to WAG with all my puppies, and I've been a hard working mom up until they were ready to be adopted. I am such a good mom, but I'm very ready for a home of my own where I get all the attention and love I deserve. 

I came from roaming the streets, so not much is known about my past. I seem to not mind the other dogs at the shelter, but I havn't made any close friends yet. I've been too busy feeding ten babies to make any bffs. 

I can be a bit nervous of new people, so slow introductions and lots of treats are key! I'm becoming more and more confident everyday, and have starting really enjoying going out on little walks on my own now. I'm good on leash, but need some extra encouragement sometimes as all the new noises can be a bit overwhelming! Luckily I'm quite food motivated and enjoy all kinds of treats and special meals, as I was thin when I arrived but I am putting some weight on again. Feeding 10 babies was hard work, I also suffered from mastitis, but I have thankfully healed up now and am ready to be spayed in the near future. WAG promised me that I only have to be a teen mom once and can focus on being a puppy myself now.

I am looking for a home who is commited to helping me gain confidence, and a home that can give me all the love and attention I deserve! Remember, most things inside are new to me and although I'm delighted to be warm and fed, I am not used to basic things like stairs, kitchen sounds and I'm working on getting into the car for car rides. I am a young dog myself with not too much indoor life experience, I need to you remember that and take things at my pace.

Training classes with a WAG approved trainer would also need to be part of the plan! I can't wait to find a cozy bed to cuddle up on, and someone who will take me for all the awesome adventures I deserve!

My Perfect Match

-Willing to take multiple trips to WAG to build trust and a relationship with me.
-Has lots of patience and understanding of my past.
-Will go very slow with me and let me gain confidence, I am learning to be in a home, in cars, on a leash and harness, and many other things that most dog owners take for granted.
-Will love me forever no matter what!

My Story:

WAG staff were contacted by a concerned citizen that had been keeping an eye on me and noticed that I was pregnant. I was found in interior BC near Williams lake. Once myself and my 10 babies were safe and warm at WAG I could finally get some well deserved rest time in. I was a little timid with the ladies at WAG at first but after a few days I came out of my shell and opened up. I am quite thin after caring for my 10 puppies, but with regulars high quality meals and lots of snacks I am gradually gaining some much needed weight. I really enjoy my short walks with the WAG girls, I'm seeing so many new things whilst I'm out and about!

It's time to find my forever family!

If you can't adopt me at this time, please consider donating to my care. I have been at WAG for over 6 weeks now and it takes a lot of resources to raise a litter.